Skip to main content



Explore more of Isaaffik

Mads Melbye



Mads Melbye, Professor, MD, DMSc
Director, Epidemiology and Disease Surveillance
& Danish National Biobank
Executive Vice President, Statens Serum Institut

BORN March 23, 1956, in Hillerød, Denmark

1975 - Baccalaureate from Aarhus Katedralskole, Aarhus, Denmark
1984 - Medical Diploma (M.D.), University of Aarhus, Denmark
1988 - (Doctorate - PhD)

1983 Awarded gold medal of the University of Aarhus, Denmark, for a thesis on microbiology and oncol-ogy
1985 Hjortenberg Foundation Prize
1989 Danish AIDS Society Prize
1992 The Anders Jahre Prize, Oslo, Norway
1993 Ipsen lecture
1998 The Thorvald Madsen Prize
2005 The Novo Nordisk Prize
2014 The Erhoff Prize

1981-82 Holder of scholarship, The Institute of Cancer Research, Aarhus, Denmark
1984-85 Research Fellow, The Institute of Cancer Research, Aarhus, Denmark
1985-86 Visiting scientist, Environmental Epidemiology Branch, National Cancer Institute, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland, USA
1986-88 Intern and resident in Medicine, University Hospital, Aarhus and Copenhagen
1988-91 Senior Investigator, Institute of Cancer Epidemiology, The Danish Cancer Registry, Copenhagen, Denmark
1991-92 State Epidemiologist, Department of Epidemiology, Statens Serum Institut, Copenhagen
1998-2002 NorFA professor
1992-1997 Professor (personal chair given by the Minister of Education, Bertel Haarder, “superprofessor”)
1992- Head, Department of Epidemiology Research, Statens Serum Institut, Copenhagen
1998-2008 Foreign adjunct professor, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
2004-2012 Director, Division of Epidemiology, Statens Serum Institut
2012-2015 Director, Division of National Health Surveillance and Research
2013- Consulting Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine, USA
2014- Professor in Medical Epidemiology (10%), University of Copenhagen
2015- Director, Division of Epidemiology and Disease Surveillance

Administratively responsible for a staff of approx. 110 persons and head of a research staff of approx. 50 persons. Has supervised more than 30 PhD students within epidemiology.

COMMITTEES (selected)
1982-2002 Member of the Danish National Health Service working group on AIDS
1997-2010 Member of the Danish National Health Service expert panel regarding national cancer registration
1999-2002 Member of the Ministry of Health's Working Group on Biobanks
2000-2001 Chairman, Ministry of Research and Technology's working group on registry research
2002-2012 Chairman, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation's coordinating group regarding registry research (KOR)
2004-2006 Member of the Danish Medical Research Council
2006-2010 Vice-Chairman, Danish Medical Research Council
2005- Chairman of the scientific committee, the Danish Health Insurance Fond
2006- Danish member of the Steering Committee regarding Nordic Research Centres of Excellence
2007-2010 Chairman, Board of the Nordic Medical Research Councils (NOS-M)
2007- Member of the Novo Nordisk Prize Committee
2010-2014 Member of the Swedish Research Council’s Infrastructure Committee
2011- Member of Lægevidenskabens Fremme, AP Møller og hustru Chastine Mc-Kinney Møllers Fond
2012-2014 Chairman, Board of Scientific Councillors, International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), Lyon, France
2014- Member, Board of Governing Council, International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), Lyon, France
2014- Member of the International Scientific Advisory Board, UK Biobank

1986-93 AIDS. Current Science (CS). London, Philadelphia.
1988-00 Journal of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndromes. Raven Press, New York.
2001- Cancer Causes & Control
2001- Journal National Cancer Institute (Associate Editor)
2006-11 Acta Oncologica

Has written more than 500 publications. Has an H-index of 75 in Web of Science.